Stressed?

I am 2 months into college and I have already been assigned an assessment – which isn’t too bad. However, the run up to Christmas tends to be one of the most stressful parts of the year – for me, at least. This tends to be the time where assessments arrive in rapid succession and it can be difficult to balance the mountain of coursework with the added stress of life in general.

I have recently read an article which provides some useful tips for dealing with stress at college/university, which I have found extremely helpful during my time at college, so I wanted to share them with you.

  • Watch something that you have already seen.

Much of the stress experienced comes from not knowing what is going to happen in the future, so watching something that you are familiar with – Whether that is a film, TV show or something else – where you do know the ending – can help reduce stress.

  • Go for a walk – With music

Everyone knows that walking – or any type of work out – is a good way to relieve stress, whilst keeping your body healthy. But the emphasis is on the music – walking without any distractions gives your brain the chance to start overthinking and builds the stress back up – having music provides a distraction, giving you something else to focus on.

  • Have a break!

Make some time for yourself, do something you enjoy – such as; watching TV, listening to music, reading a book, or going out with friends. Anything that takes your mind away from the stressful task – even if it is just for 30 minutes – 1 hour. During my time at college, whenever I became overwhelmed and at my wits end with any assignment, I would make myself a cup of tea and either chat with my family or watch TV for an hour, so when I go back to my work, I feel more relaxed and able to focus better.

These tips can be applied to any situation where you feel stressed or overwhelmed. Basically, try to distract yourself by doing something you enjoy, even a short amount of time can make all the difference.

I really hope these tips have helped. If you have any other suggestions, feel free to let me know.

All the best!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑